Bhudev C. Das

Home / Bhudev C. Das

Dr. Das has made outstanding contributions in the field of Cancer Research, Tumor Virology, Human Genetics, and Mutation Research.  During the last 42 years of his distinguished research career, he has published more than 210 research papers in reputed international journals and distinguished himself as a renowned Molecular Oncologist.  Dr. Das has earned his M.Sc. and a Ph.D. degree from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.   He later worked several years with the Nobel Laureate, Prof. Harald zurHausen (Nobel Prize, 2008) at German Cancer Research Centre (DFKZ), Heidelberg, (Germany), and later he pioneered the work in India on Human Papillomavirus (HPV) that causes cervical and other cancers.  He established the National and WHO Regional HPV Referral Centre for South-East Asia at ICPO.   His present areas of research are transcriptional regulation, miRNA regulation, cancer stem cell, and cancer drug discovery.

So far 36 Ph.D. and 79 MD/MS/DM/DNB/DM students have received their degrees under his supervision and guidance.  Dr. Das is the recipient of the President’s gold medal for most prestigious Dr. B.C. Roy National Award of MCI, Sandoz Oration Award of ICMR, and is a Fellow of International Union Against Cancer (UICC), Geneva.  He is a Fellow of all four major national science and medical academies, (FNA, FASc, FNASc & FAMS).   Dr. Das was elected President of the Indian Association for Cancer Research (IACR) from 2006-2009.   He was a PI and a WHO expert advisor of the Global HPV LabNet & HPV Vaccine Program at, Geneva for several years.   Dr. Das has received several other prestigious awards e.g., Ranbaxy Medical Research Award, Dr. P.N. Wahi Award of ICMR, Ramniklal J. Kinarivala Cancer Research Award of Gujarat Cancer Research Institute, Ahmedabad,  Dr. P. N. Chhuttani Oration Award of National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS), FICCI Award, and SAASCR Award of the Society for American-Asian Scientists in Cancer Research, USA.   Dr. Das is the recipient of the prestigious J.C. Bose National Fellowship (2008-2016) and ICMR’s B.R. Ambedkar Centenary Award for Excellence in Biomedical Research 2017.

 Dr. Das is a member of several scientific task force, Project Review Committees and high powered committees, Associate Editor, editorial board member, and reviewer of several reputed national and international journals.